Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I have had my hands tied for several weeks now, or so it has seemed. My computer, which I thought just needed a bit of CPR, went into a coma on December 21. Right before the holidays, so it took me until the 6th of January to contact Dell and ask them to send someone out to repair it under the warranty. As someone who works in the publishing business online from a home office, I was cut off. I was desperately using my Droid cell phone and later a Kindle Fire to keep connected on Facebook, Gmail, Twitter, and other social media sites, but I had no keyboard, a tiny little screen, no Word program, and no way of remembering all my passwords to access sites such as WordPress. I was alone but not alone; connected halfway to friends but cut off from work. I said often during that time period that if I weren’t my own boss I would be fired for taking a self-imposed 48 day hiatus from my job. My business partner held down the office fort while I wandered about aimlessly through my days, contacting my new friend Dylan in Oklahoma at Dell often to inquire about “the next step” to fix, and ultimately replace, my computer. It took a month that included a service call, me installing my own second hard drive by myself, and much griping, squeaky-wheel implementing, and patience before I found the FedEx guy on my doorstep yesterday delivering my replacement equipment, a new Dell M6800 Workstation/laptop convertible computer.

I missed many marketing opportunities during my “time off”, but strived to survive being offline. An author wanted to interview me for her blog so I had to go to my friend Donna’s house to borrow her computer about a month into my exile. I was astounded by how much I needed a computer to provide the blogger, Kasper Beaumont, with information about myself: I needed all of my links, a synopsis of my book The Fairies of Feyllan, an author bio, an author photo, a book cover photo. I couldn’t do the interview without the internet! It made me realize how none of my personal information is actually mine, or is anything I can just ramble off the top of my head: My publisher created and “owns” my synopsis of my book, my bio is written in stone because it is posted in other places as well, my bio photos are all online, and just to email the information to Kasper I needed the internet and a Word program and other photo programs to do it. It was eye opening. Authors in this day and age must be connected online with their arsenal of marketing materials on hand to make a dent in the daunting task of creating “social proof” (I will talk more about that subject another time).

During my hiatus from my online life, I had an interesting thing happen. The sequel to The Fairies of Feyllan began writing itself in my head. Characters began “talking” to me, telling me their stories from where I left off with them. I was surprised at some of the turns of events; dark fairies are flying on the horizon! But I had no place but my phone to take electronic notes. I made a few handwritten ones too, a practice that seemed quaint and archaic all at once. The fairies will not be ignored! They apparently do not care that my Word program had vanished with the last gasping breath of my M6600.

Though trying, and not very relaxing, this experience has really given me some insight into how important social media and marketing is to the modern day author. Our forebears didn’t have to do this sort of self-promotion to get their books read, but we do, and without the internet, we would fail to get any recognition whatsoever. The internet is the instrument for the voice of the author to be heard.

In the meantime, in a shameless promotional plug, here is the interview with Kasper. I was most pleased to get a photo of my beloved dog Drinian in there, and Kasper was lovely to work with and talk to. Us fantasy writers must stick together!

http://huntersofreloria.weebly.com/interview-with-cat-spydell.html

Here is my book link on Amazon too. Why? Because I CAN. Because I have a computer again and can continue the happy art of cutting and pasting links wherever I want!

http://www.amazon.com/The-Fairies-Feyllan-Cat-Spydell/dp/1938208137/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1391803713&sr=8-1&keywords=the+fairies+of+feyllan

