Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

FREE!!  TODAY ONLY!!!  http://www.amazon.com/Become-Power-Easy-Steps-ebook/dp/B00FBJAIPC/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1380278149&sr=8-1&keywords=chris+hook+man+of+power

I have just written those words and published the above link about 100 times in the last hour.  I am promoting an eBook for our affiliate publishing company DPR Press. Luckily I edited the content of the book so I am familiar with it, but truth be told, it is hard to push something to the public, even something as benign as a free book! Last year my publishing company had a booth at the Los Angeles Times Festival of Books. It was a Very Big Deal. We had a huge tent, set up author signings, decorated our sales table, incorporated related merchandise, and hawked books for two days to our people: Readers.  And I was able to easily recommend books to strangers, books that the company was selling and standing behind, but as the days wore on I realized, never once had I tried to sell someone my OWN book. How much easier it is to promote others than ourselves! I was surprised by my shyness regarding promoting myself. I think that it is the most difficult part of being an independent and small press author in this day and age. As some may recall, I went camping at a 3-day music festival to try and promote my fairy book (shameless plug) The Fairies of Feyllan. I walked around wearing wings handing out sample chapter booklets to people dressed as trees and the fae to try and get book sales. It is a never ending and thankless job, to try and sell your own book. We make sure our authors know that while the company does quite a lot for our authors, such as press releases and setting up book signings, etc., that it is up to the author to sell the book on a DAILY basis. There is no moment for laziness until a book “tips”. In other words, marketing is an ongoing, often draining job. You KNOW your friends and family on Facebook are tired of hearing about it, that the bottom of your email signature is cluttered with links to your books, and you feel, frankly, like a pest because of it. In a perfect world, you could just post about your book one time and your 1500 Facebook friends would not only buy your book, but review it, as well as suggesting it to their book club and Aunt Tillie. But every indie and small press author knows, that is not how it works in the real world. Friends have good intentions, but don’t always back up those intentions with action. So for that reason, we post on Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr, and on every other site we can come up with, risk annoying our friends and acquaintances, and become Marketing Monsters…all in the name of selling what we know is an awesome book that everyone, if they would just read the damn thing, would love.

Image

